Faithful

“I will be faithful to you and make you mine, and you will finally know me as the Lord.”
Hosea 2:20, NLT

While studying I came to this verse. I have thought about it all day. Thought about how it applies to me and to current world situations. I even just considered the word Faithful.

Faithful Defined is….
Adhering firmly and devotedly, as to a person, cause, or idea; loyal.
Having or full of faith.
Worthy of trust or belief; reliable.

I find it amazing that in this verse God is saying that He will be Faithful to US. It seems a little backwards doesn’t it? Are you faithful to God? If so, How do you show it?

I took the verse and in my mind erased the word Lord. I started to think about other people that could go in that sentence.

“I will be faithful to you and make you mine, and you will finally know me as your ________.”
a) Boss
b) Pastor
c) Police
d) Child’s teacher
You get the picture.
Really none of those truly fit in that sentence.

As an example, when was the last time you heard a boss say that he has Loyal/Faithful employees. I have heard this quite a few times. “Boy, Sure hate to see Jim retire he has always been so faithful and loyal to the company.”

When was the last time you have heard an employee say “Man I love my job! My Boss is so faithful to me.”

I find it really amazing to try and understand that God is FAITHFUL to ME! He is the Boss, the Top Dog, the Controller of all things. Yet he states that he will make us His and be Faithful to us. I love this promise that he has given us.

“I will be faithful to you and make you mine, and you will finally know me as the Lord.”
-Hosea 2:20

Published in: on March 4, 2009 at 12:42 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2009/03/04/faithful/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It DOES seem backwards. But that is how God works sometimes, isn’t it? Especially when it comes to loving. Wow, what an awesome thought!

  2. Thanks for sharing this thought, Theresa. It’s true that I never say, “I love my job, management is so faithful to me!” Isn’t it great how we all look at scripture and something different may be revealed to each one? What other Book can do that? I LOVE the Word!

  3. Believing God is faithful is when we finally release ourselves to be His child. Not just our parent. But Father. I really liked your thoughts on this one. Also, I wanted to paste my response to your recent comment just in case you did not see as your comment really blessed me and made me think. Here it is:

    Theresa,

    Your comment was very thoughtful. It reminded me of a very important season when my Christian counselor taught me that God wants us to feel safe, alone with him. Yes, healthy, human relationships are important. But if telling the truth in love, with boundaries, means you are living just with God for a while, that needs to be OK. Better than lying, caretaking, codependancy and all that stuff. God wants it to be this way because it is the truth that sets us free!

    Thanks for reminding me of this in your comment.

    xoxox,
    R

  4. Wow! Thanks for the insights!

  5. Hi Girly,

    I just made a post including you. Let me know if problem:

    http://roxannekristina.blogspot.com/2009/03/when-i-process-why-i-blog-there-are.html

    xoxo,
    R


Leave a Reply

