Sex and Tech

After writing my last post regarding text messaging and my teenage daughter, I started looking at research. It was quite overwhelming. I wanted to share some of the statistics I found. This survey was conducted by The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy. You can read the entire study here.

How many teens say they have sent/posted nude or semi-nude pictures or video of themselves?
~ 20% of teens overall
~ 22% of teen girls
~ 18% of teen boys

How many teens are sending or posting sexually suggestive messages?
~ 39% of all teens
~ 37% of teen girls
~ 40% of teen boys
~ 48% of teens say they have received such messages

Although most teens and young adults who send sexually
suggestive content are sending it to boyfriends/
girlfriends, others say they are sending such material to
those they want to hook up with or to someone they only
know online.

Who are these sexually suggestive messages and images being sent to?
~ 71% of teen girls and 67% of teen guys who have sent
or posted sexually suggestive content say they have
sent/posted this content to a boyfriend/girlfriend.
~ 21% of teen girls and 39% of teen boys say they have
sent such content to someone they wanted to date or
hook up with.
~ 15% of teens who have sent or posted nude/semi-nude
images of themselves say they have done so to
someone they only knew online.

How many teens and young adults say they have been shown nude/semi-nude content originally meant for someone else?
~ 38% of teen girls and 39% of teen boys say they have
had sexually suggestive text messages or emails—
originally meant for someone else—shared with
them.
~ 25% of teen girls and 33% of teen boys say they have
had nude or semi-nude images—originally meant
for someone else—shared with them.

Why do teens and young adults send or post sexually suggestive content?
~ 51% of teen girls say pressure from a guy is a reason
girls send sexy messages or images; only 18% of
teen boys cited pressure from female counterparts
as a reason.
~ 23% of teen girls and 24% of teen boys say they were
pressured by friends to send or post sexual content.
Among teens who have sent sexually suggestive content:
~ 66% of teen girls and 60% of teen boys say they did
so to be “fun or flirtatious”— their most common
reason for sending sexy content.
~ 52% of teen girls did so as a “sexy present” for their
boyfriend.
~ 44% of both teen girls and teen boys say they sent
sexually suggestive messages or images in response
to such content they received.
~ 40% of teen girls said they sent sexually suggestive
messages or images as “a joke.”
~ 34% of teen girls say they sent/posted sexually suggestive
content to “feel sexy.”
~ 12% of teen girls felt “pressured” to send sexually
suggestive messages or images.

5 TIPS TO HELP PARENTS TALK TO THEIR KIDS ABOUT SEX AND TECHNOLOGY”
1. Talk to your kids about what they are doing in cyberspace.
2. Know who your kids are communicating with.
3. Consider limitations on electronic communication.
4. Be aware of what your teens are posting publicly.
5. Set expectations.

There is so much more information in this survey. I encourage you to read it. It has great tips and easy explanations for you and your teen. I am being called by God to jump on this and not only protect my teenagers but hopefully assist other parents with these issues.

All Information in this post supplied by The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy

Published in: on February 23, 2009 at 12:06 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/sex-and-tech/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow – these are some eye-opening statistics.
    I used to work for an abstinence education program in which I went into schools with a group of people and talked with teens about abstaining from sex until marriage. And not just “the act,” but the stuff leading up to it. These messages and images can hurt them, too.
    Now that I have my own children I want to communicate the same message to them. Sex is a wonderful gift given by God, but so easy to destroy when it isn’t enjoyed as He intended.
    Thanks for sharing this info, and encouraging parents to be involved!

  2. This is really important stuff. Your research will be a blessing to all of us. Thank you.

    I am slowly but surly getting back into the swing of things. I need you to know your comments and emails bless me beyond words. SO SO SO SO comforting to know I have sisters-in-Christ praying for me. And you are a dear sister!!!

    I love you friend,
    Roxx

  3. PS: How was your visit w/ Cindy? I am sure you have posted. I will scan your blog as soon as I can.

    xoxoxo,
    R

  4. Wow sister, you just beat the enemy over the head by spreading this information. My son does not have a phone yet, and he’s only on-line when I can supervise him, but it’s so good to know all this. I think so many people are simply unaware. Thanks for taking what the enemy met for bad for your daughter, covering her, and at the same time spreading wisdom to other parents!!!

  5. Wow.

  6. Cripes – time to take the phone off her and not let her out of the house until she is 21….. 🙂

    x

  7. Thank you for sharing this with us! This is very very scary to me now that I am a parent! My husband already says that he isn’t going to let my daughter out of the house until she’s 30. When I tell him about this the poor child will be at least 60 when she see’s the outdoors.

  8. I’m not that naive, but these are pretty surprising statistics. I’m having a conversation with my daughter tonight!

  9. Oh gosh. I’m not having babies. I’m not having babies. I’m not having babies.

  10. Alarming!


Leave a Reply

