Just Checking In

‘I JUST CAME AGAIN TO TELL YOU, LORD,
HOW HAPPY I’VE BEEN, SINCE WE FOUND EACH OTHERS FRIENDSHIP
AND YOU TOOK AWAY MY SIN. I DON’T KNOW MUCH OF HOW TO PRAY,
BUT I THINK ABOUT YOU EVERYDAY..
SO, JESUS, THIS IS ME CHECKING IN TODAY.’

This is part of one of those forwarded emails that we all get.  I think that I have received it two or three times before.  I keep running into people that ask me how, when and how long they need to pray for.  

I didn’t get the memo that required us to be on our knees for 45 minutes and pray from 6 am to 6:45 am, then to revisit the prayer position at 11:40m to noon to “remind ” God of your earlier prayers,  Just in case your earlier devotionals or everything you have prayed for so far will be forgotten.  At bed time you will need to revisit for a minimum of 1 hour to repent for your sins and remind God of your prayers.  If any of you received this memo can I receive a copy of it?  Please!

 I admit in my human fleshy self…The above prayer to me is beautiful.  I think it is a great place to start. Add more when you are comfortable.  Praying to God is just a conversation with someone that loves you more than anybody else could ever imagine.  Don’t let words intimidate you.  Check in with him at least once a day.

Published in: on January 14, 2009 at 10:11 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2009/01/14/just-checking-in/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So true! Prayer can be as simple as breathing. A constant communication throughout the day.

  2. I find that as my relationship with Jesus has grown that my conversating with Him has as well. I catch myself asking Him questions on a more regular basis and crying out to Him for help more. He is so good, and we are so blessed to have access to Him all day and all night!!

  3. sometimes all i’ve got is one-liners. and i think He’s okay with that.

  4. This is so true.. I am with Alece, sometimes it’s one-liners. But sometimes it’s a very long phone call.


Leave a Reply

