What’s on Your Mind ‘09? – Control

How much of your life is in control by God and how much of your life are you in control?

Some people will read this question and think there is an easy answer. 

I personally look at it and find it to be almost a trick question.  If I say that I am in control of my life, I am pretty much saying that I do it all without God.  If I say that God has complete control, then I am a robot.

So I have no really exciting scientific answers.  I just have an opinion.  I believe that God has as much control of your life as you choose to yield to him.  Yes he controls the universe.  He made me, he has plans for me, he sees things for me better then I can even imagine.  But if I don’t follow the path he put forth in front of me, then I am taking away his control.

I prefer it to go the other way though.  I prefer to follow the path in front of me.  The path laid out by God.  Things in life fall into place better.  At 40, I prefer to sit back and let God whisper to me about my next move.  I am a strong independant woman.  There is no doubt that I am capable of taking care of myself.  But God wants to take care of me even better then I could.  I have always loved Proverbs 16:1

We can make our own plans, but the Lord gives the right answer.

So I guess in the end the answer to the above question depends on who you are.

Please join us at Hearts Reflections for more conversations regarding What’s on Your Mind ‘09? -Who’s in Control!!

Published in: on January 6, 2009 at 1:17 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2009/01/06/what%e2%80%99s-on-your-mind-%e2%80%9809-control/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Because the path laid out by God is better than anything we could come up with on our own!
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. Theresa,

    I love the last line of your post — it’s so true! Thanks for sharing.

  3. I feel exactly the same… it’s a trick question! This was a really hard topic to write on as there is no easy explanation. If we try to put into words our relationship with Christ – it almost sounds foolish. But isn’t that what Paul called us to be – fools for Christ?

    your friend the fool~
    Shane

  4. Theresa,
    I found you through Shane’s blog…it’s nice to meet you. 🙂

    “I am a strong independant woman. There is no doubt that I am capable of taking care of myself.” That’s exactly me too! My problem certainly isn’t self-sufficiency, it’s submission.

    What a journey we’re on! Thankfully God is a patient guide.

  5. Well I wish someone would take the reins of my life for a while, I could do with a bloody rest 🙂

    x

  6. Theresa,

    Thanks for coming by Jerri’s Journey. Just like learning to let God be in control of my life is a gradual process, becoming friends with my daughter was a gradual process too. She is now 22 and we have so much fun sharing ideas now, but it was a different story when she was 15!

    God bless you, and I look forward to hearing more of your ideas.

  7. At 40, I prefer to sit back and let God whisper to me about my next move. I am a strong independant woman. There is no doubt that I am capable of taking care of myself. But God wants to take care of me even better then I could

    WHOA


Leave a Reply

