Favorite Christmas Tradition – Favorites Party 2008

fp1

I never considered this a Tradition  but my son informed me that since we do it every year it is.  My daughter has already started  to ask when I am going to the grocery store to get the ingredients.  So I will claim it as the Trotter Family Christmas Eve Tradition.

Every year for Christmas Eve’s dinner I make homemade Cioppino.  This is a hearty seafood stew.  I have a standing order for the fresh clams, scallops, shrimp, crab meat and white fish.  I also purchase homemade crusty super sourdough rolls.   It simmers for a couple hours and it is usually wonderful. 

After dinner we get to open one present.  One that us as the parents get to pick out for them.  When the kids believed in Santa they use to leave out pretzels for Santa and carrots for the reindeer.  Ryan was sure Santa was tired of cookies.

Published in: on December 16, 2008 at 12:02 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2008/12/16/favorite-christmas-tradition-favorites-party-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Never even heard of Cioppino! But, I do love all thing sourdough. All things.

  2. That stew sounds so yummy—makes me want to go to CA for Christmas.
    Our family also got one present to open the night before. It’s funny how traditions spread.

  3. I am SO with Dusty on her comments. I love food traditions. Then when you get older that particular food, or even the mention of it, makes you feel so good inside!

  4. Besides one small little problem that I dont eat anything from the sea 🙂 , it sounds awesome, and you ARE awesome!!! Bless you friend, Roxx

  5. Yum! Your kids will probably make it for their own kids someday!

  6. My son would love Christmas Eve at your place. I can’t even stand the smell of seafood. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

