Snacks, Kids and an Irritated Husband

twin1mushI have two kids.  A 15 year old son, Ryan, and a 13 year old daughter, Hope.  They are a lot like most kids their age.  They sleep, EAT, go to school, EAT, come home, EAT, do homework, EAT, read/watch tv, EAT, go to bed.  So basically they do some things between EATING.  I hear that this is normal teenage behavior. 

Yes my poketbook feels it.  We wouldn’t dream of trying to skip a week of grocery shopping.  I do only go to the butcher every other week.  I get weekly deliveries to my house of organic fruits and vegetables by a company called Country Organics.  I don’t buy a lot of boxed dinners or frozen meals.  I really try and purchase food that is as close to natural as possible.  Don’t get me wrong I love fast food.  I love to eat out. 

I have been informed in the past by my children that I don’t get the “GOOD” snack food.  AKA Twinkies, HoHos, Chips Ahoy, Oreos, Brownies, Anything Little Debbie.  There are always chips and pretzels in the house.  Whereas I informed them that if the “GOOD” Snack Houses would take them in, I would help them pack.  They are still here. 

I feel as if I am the only one laughing in my house tonight.  My husband is irritated.  I don’t normally laugh about that but tonight it is funny.  Poor Craig is irritated because our daughter decided when she came home that she NEEDED to eat.  What did she chose?  What every 13 year old girl wants….Fresh Mushrooms.  The last ones in the house.  We just got a produce delivery yesterday and in the box was 4 bananas and 4 apples and Craig is irritated that we are down to 1 of each now.  Turns out that when my 15 year old made his lunch last night he took 1 of each and then this morning ate 1 of each.

I feel bad for my husband’s mood.  I really think that it started at work and then got to come home with him.  Personally I came back to my room quickly so he wouldn’t hear me chuckle and then I thanked the Lord.   What a blessing it is to have kids that love good foods.  I am going grocery shopping tomorrow to beat the Thanksgiving rush, I may just need to get those kids of mine some Twinkies.

Published in: on November 20, 2008 at 7:16 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2008/11/20/snacks-kids-and-an-irritated-husband/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s great! I don’t buy the junk much either.

  2. It’s great that they like good food… most kids fill up on junk and then won’t eat the good healthy stuff..

  3. haha! that is SO hilarious! I’m laughing with you. I guess he was ill for lack of fat grams and calories. 😉 what man wouldn’t be? that’s too funny that she packed that for him.

  4. One of the joys of family life and thanks for visiting my blog. Appreciated.

    May God make you and hour household even more beautiful

  5. Your post scares me. Matthew is only 9 and I’m already thinking he may eat both of us out of the house. He eats more then I do!!
    I’m really impressed with your healthy food choices. We eat fairly well, but always have icecream in the house!!
    I’m also impressed at your wisdom to just laugh some stuff off. That can be the cure for so much frustration!!

  6. Sounds like it’s time to get TWO boxes of produce! 🙂 Those kids can eat, can’t they!!

  7. I say just put a lock on the refrigerator that requires a quarter to open it, that way the kids will really think about when and what they eat. 🙂

  8. Shame on me. I’m eating a Sonic oreo blast as I read this. (comfort food today)


Leave a Reply

