Disappointed

Over the last couple days I have been hit with a few disappointing events/plan changers/realities.  Some of them fed my insecurities.  While others gave me an opportunity to teach and dole out punishment to my son.

I don’t think that any of us can honestly say that we enjoy being disappointed.  It makes me feel sad, confused and or full of self doubt.  Even when it is stuff that is beyond my control.  I often wonder if It was God’s will for me to do that or me forcing the issue.  Disappointment carries a wide range of feelings.  In the case of my son my disappointment made me angery, whereas another disappointment made me cry and want to go hide.

I looked up the true meaning of the word and here is the definition according to Webster’s

“Dissapointed is defeated in expectation or hope”

How often does Disappointment throw you for a loop?

How do you deal with Dissapointment? 

Unrelenting disappointment leaves you heartsick, but a sudden good break can turn life around. ~ Proverbs 13:12

Published in: on October 8, 2008 at 10:48 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2008/10/08/disappointed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Theresa, I am frequently disappointed, and can totally relate to the reality of this verse! But I think there is a special dimension when our disappointment has to do with our children. THat is really hard.

    I’m thinking of you and hope that a sudden good break will give you a boost. I’ve missed you, friend!

  2. T,

    Thanks for sharing your processing.

    The root for me in disappointment is usually that I am personalizing something. I am very sensitive. I have a lot of learned “matter of fact” skills in my tool box, if you will, but my core is one big mushy feeler. Feeler, feeler, feeler. Your willingness to share this stuff is encouraging.

    Thanks,
    Roxx

  3. I hate disappointment. I was disappointed this morning and I’m still trying to figure out what to do with it. (Probably should just “get over it.” ! )

    Loved Roxanne’s “mushy feeler” description. Oh I can so relate!

  4. Dissappointment comes in waves (but I also have teenagers). But How do I deal with it. One step at a time, one syllabul at a time. It’s tough..

  5. It seems to be connected to expectations for me. I used to take it SO personally when my kids misbehaved, or my husband didn’t read my mind, or …..whatever!

    I’ve learned to “go with the flow”, I guess.

    Or maybe it’s just old age?……Naw 🙂

  6. This is a painful topic for most I think. I struggle with Hope because of fear of disapointment. I tend to know within myself what disapointments I can handle and which ones to avoid. I have seen the Lord really stretching my faith by putting hopes in me that if failed will really hurt bad. I don’t want to miss out on his blessings by living without hope though. Life always stands a chance to disapoint. I know though that God does not disapoint, that the fullness of His plan for those that are His is always beautiful and always good. It is still scary for me though.


Leave a Reply

