Got Faith?

 

Faith is not belief without proof, but trust without reservation.  

~ Elton Trueblood ~

 Faith is the refusal to panic

~ David Martyn Lloyd-Jones ~

Faith is like electricity. You can’t see it, but you can see the light

~ Source Unknown ~

I have had people ask me questions like this….

Aren’t you worried about this???

Don’t you stress about that???

What if??? 

I really use to be a worry wart when I was a kid but that was to be expected I didn’t have a regular childhood.  Aside from that period, even when I wasn’t actively following Chirst.  I have always had faith.  When I was a teenager I quit going to church.  I had asked Jesus in to my heart.  I had asked my church to help to finish raising me in a Godly way but it didn’t stop me from walking out and doing what I wanted.

I think that I had it better then my girlfriends that I hung out with becasue none of them had been raised in a church.  None of them knew Jesus.  I didn’t realize at 14 that I was suppose to disciple them.  I was just a self centered kid.  My teenage years were a little wild.  We did things that I am surprised now when I look back on them that we survived.  Times were different back then but it was still not wise to hitchhike or go to guys houses and drink.

For me though I knew that God was with me.  I knew he didn’t like what I was doing.  I knew that Jesus was unhappy and probably sitting on his throne shaking his head and asking his dad, “Remind me again why we are saving her?”  But no matter where I was, what I was doing, who I was with, I knew he was with me.  I knew that as perturbed as he was with me he was with me.  He had to be….I had FAITH that he was there. 

Faith offers a great gift of peace.  The stronger you are in faith the more at peace you are.  I believe it whole heartedly and I live it.  🙂

HOW STRONG IS YOUR FAITH??

Faith comes from hearing, that is, hearing the Good News about Christ. ~ Romans 10.17~

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see. ~Hebrews 11;1~ 

 

Published in: on September 28, 2008 at 10:45 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2008/09/28/got-faith/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Faith is something I want more of- not the saving kind, because that is done, but the kind that embraces ALL of God’s grace and appropriates it every day. Wow!

    Thanks for this post, Theresa.

  2. But no matter where I was, what I was doing, who I was with, I knew he was with me. I knew that as perturbed as he was with me he was with me. He had to be….I had FAITH that he was there

    Loved this part….

    Ms T. This is awesome…

    Love you girl

  3. I think you wrote this after texting me last night.

    I get the point.

    Thank you.

  4. Love that 3rd quote!!

  5. well done, theresa.

    it is so hard not to worry. i am a worrier too. =)

  6. I should have won awards for my expertise in worry. Over the last five years I can honestly say that I’m no longer even a contender of worry. I’m so out of that race it’s not even funny. But even once in a while, the enemy tries to taunt me with a little keepsake or trophy … as if!

  7. Honestly, my faith is pretty strong these days. We’ve bee hit with some hard circumstances, and at times I feel my faith start to wavor, but He always pulls me back to my source and I’m good again. The truth is, I can’t let go of Him. He’s all I have.

  8. Good grief I wondered when you were ever going to use one of those smilies you moved over here for!

    I think my faith is pretty strong. I sometimes let stuff get to me, but overall, I keep the faith. It’s easier that way! 😉


Leave a Reply

