What are you Grasping?

“When God takes something from your grasp, He’s not punishing you,
but merely opening your hands to receive something better.”

How often do we hang onto something too tight, scared that it is going to be taken away?  Do we tighten our grasp so no one, not even God, can tug it out of our hands?  If so…..  How often are we stuck grasping tightly a big bag of our trash? Our emotional baggage?  Our fears of not having anything?  Our fears that someone will end up with more than us?

I have decided that I don’t want to carry around the big bag of trash anymore.  My fears are washed away in Jesus’ blood, In my Father’s love for me.  I am praying that he choses to take something from my grasp.  I am ready to receive something better.  Any gift from God has to be better!

What are you Grasping?

Published in: on September 22, 2008 at 8:10 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theresa162.wordpress.com/2008/09/22/what-are-you-grasping/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know exactly what you are saying! its true, we often hold on to something that we feel worthy, when HE is trying to pry it from our fingers, and wanting to give us something better! AMEN

  2. This is good, Theresa. I’m learning to let go of more and more. Sometimes, I didn’t even realize I was holding on….or that it was trash.

  3. Still grasping my kiddos.

    And trying to release them at the same time.

  4. This is so good. It reminds me of a word the Lord had given me along time ago– the story of the little girl with the fake pearls that the Father wanted to exchange for real ones– how ofter are we choosing something worthless and fake over what He has– the real deal, all because of fear.

  5. So true. I think I grasp on to be liked and how I’m viewed in others’ eyes. God is stripping me one layer at a time. If I could just remember to be humble… that’s just not a prayer I like to pray! I do, however, want God to be praised in all I do or say!

  6. I’m like Cindy, I still grasp on to my kids. But trying to let them go too.

  7. I struggle with holding onto my preconcieved notions of what God’s work looks like. Instead of letting Him WOW me afresh. Great post, Teresa.

  8. I’m trying to learn to let go of an incredibly painful situation between a best friend that betrayed me, and now coping with the total loss of that relationship. It’s hard because I love and genuintely care for her so much. Don’t know if I’ll ever have a frienship like the one her and I shared. However, I have also had to recognize that there was alot about our relationship that was toxic as well. I KNOW there was a reason behind what happened. I just don’t know how to totally let go.

    Also, I wanted to thank you for visiting my blog. I’m so glad our painful story is ministering to people. God is truly giving us beauty for our ashes. I am in awe that God could make something so beautiful for His glory, our of the messes we create. All glory be to Him!!!! There’s just no one like Him.

  9. Apologies for inserting update into post comment off topic.

    I’m writing to let you know my Sharing Notes blog is history.

    If I happen to be on your link list, below is my new blog name/address (if I am not on your link list, no worries what so ever… if you are receiving this you are on my link list – please let me know if problem):

    Roxanne Kristina
    http://roxannekristina.blogspot.com/

    If you would like more details please read this post:
    http://roxannekristina.blogspot.com/2008/09/dear-ones-link-list.html

    Blessings,
    Roxanne

    I’m back!!! Woo Hoo!!!


Leave a Reply

